Skip to content
Lambeth Counts — Lambeth, in numbers.Local help →

Lambeth, in numbers

People and living standards

Lambeth council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Lambeth council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 254,990 in 1991 to 314,298 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Lambeth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 259,743 people in 1996; 314,298 people in 2025. 21% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Lambeth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991254,990
1992255,614
1993254,615
1994256,622
1995257,197
1996259,743
1997259,854
1998263,843
1999266,817
2000270,028
2001273,372
2002273,041
2003272,195
2004274,262
2005277,620
2006280,524
2007284,964
2008289,126
2009294,050
2010297,650
2011304,481
2012310,449
2013314,375
2014318,196
2015322,881
2016326,613
2017327,227
2018328,923
2019329,513
2020325,527
2021317,691
2022318,862
2023320,532
2024318,864
2025314,298
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Lambeth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 53,725 people in 1996; 42,877 people in 2025. 20.2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Lambeth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199148,631
199250,056
199351,013
199452,371
199552,864
199653,725
199754,012
199854,669
199953,239
200052,564
200151,046
200251,135
200351,475
200451,855
200551,731
200651,944
200752,273
200852,801
200953,428
201054,324
201154,843
201255,191
201355,246
201454,865
201554,649
201654,388
201753,873
201853,281
201952,082
202050,751
202148,347
202247,130
202345,824
202444,379
202542,877
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Lambeth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 178,645 people in 1996; 240,102 people in 2025. 34.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Lambeth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991176,208
1992175,996
1993174,693
1994175,821
1995176,507
1996178,645
1997179,029
1998182,831
1999187,932
2000192,417
2001197,724
2002197,573
2003196,724
2004198,648
2005202,312
2006205,112
2007209,455
2008213,160
2009217,530
2010220,206
2011226,412
2012231,615
2013235,159
2014238,956
2015243,459
2016247,158
2017247,962
2018249,648
2019250,955
2020247,839
2021241,820
2022243,339
2023245,419
2024244,276
2025240,102
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Lambeth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 27,373 people in 1996; 31,319 people in 2025. 14.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Lambeth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199130,151
199229,562
199328,909
199428,430
199527,826
199627,373
199726,813
199826,343
199925,646
200025,047
200124,602
200224,333
200323,996
200423,759
200523,577
200623,468
200723,236
200823,165
200923,092
201023,120
201123,226
201223,643
201323,970
201424,375
201524,773
201625,067
201725,392
201825,994
201926,476
202026,937
202127,524
202228,393
202329,289
202430,209
202531,319
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 317,650 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Lambeth · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh23,0517.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African76,14524%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups25,6308.1%
White174,77855%
Other ethnic group18,0465.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 303,086 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Lambeth · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White173,02557.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups23,1607.6%
Asian/Asian British20,9386.9%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British78,54225.9%
Other ethnic group7,4212.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 266,169 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Lambeth · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White166,05862.4%
Mixed12,8544.8%
Asian/Asian British12,1644.6%
Black/Black British68,55425.8%
Chinese/Other6,5392.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 42.3% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Lambeth council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,214 per person in 1997; £36,951 per person in 2024. 229.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Lambeth council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,214
199811,488
199912,456
200013,492
200113,811
200214,078
200314,668
200415,444
200516,356
200617,448
200718,750
200819,116
200919,254
201019,912
201119,951
201220,980
201321,895
201422,995
201525,820
201627,065
201726,997
201828,740
201929,637
202029,634
202131,261
202232,803
202334,559
202436,951
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Lambeth council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 5.7% in 1997; 42.3% in 2024. 36.6 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Lambeth council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19975.7
19986.1
199910.1
200013.3
200111.6
200211.3
200312.5
200413.8
200516.3
200619.1
200722.2
200821.4
200920.2
201023.3
201122.4
201224.2
201325
201427.2
201535.7
201640.5
201737
201840.8
201940.7
202041.2
202143.1
202242.8
202341.3
202442.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

68%

21 March 2021 · Lambeth council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

18.3%

21 March 2021 · Lambeth council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

13.1%

21 March 2021 · Lambeth council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4%

21 March 2021 · Lambeth council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£537,000

July 2026 · Lambeth council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£2,525

August 2026 · Lambeth council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.